Posted by: jeannie | March 4, 2009

Nutmeg Does Not Equal Basil

I decided to attempt to make dinner last night.  By this I mean throw some stuff on the stove to make a meat sauce and boil some water for pasta.  This is big for me as I generally get home from work and boot camp and want a lean cuisine or something equally as easy.

I haven’t been much in the mood for veggies lately but decided to puree a bunch of stuff I had in my crisper to throw in the sauce.  If it’s pulverized I can generally get it down.  I had tons of spinach, some tri colored pepers and an onion.  Into the food processor they went…img_0867

…and out it came!img_0868

I added this to some lean ground beef that I browned up on the stove
img_08701

After that I just added some jarred Marinara sauce as well as a can of taomta sauce.  I decided to add some more flavor by adding garlic powder and some spices.  Right when I was getting ready to spice things up my brother called.  We were chatting on the phone and I grabbed the basil and started shaking the bottle like mad over my sauce.  About 5 shakes in I realized it was not basil, but in fact NUTMEG!  EW!  I quickly cursed a bit, explained to my confused brother what was going on, and got off the phone.  I was able to scoop out most of the tainted sauce and continued with dinner prep.

Because of the green veggie purees this sauce had a brownish color, but was still delicious.  Here’s the finished meal.  Pasta, nutmeg-less sauce, and some low fat parm
img_0871


Leave a comment

Categories